CCOHS Announces 2011 Dick Martin Scholarship Award Winners

Hamilton, ON (May 3, 2011) – Today the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) announced the three recipients of the 2011 Dick Martin Scholarship Award. CCOHS offers this annual, national award to post-secondary students enrolled in occupational health and safety programmes in Canada, to foster interest in the field of workplace health and safety.

CCOHS awarded $3,000 scholarships to three students from across Canada: Terri Romaine (Alberta), Kayla Smith (Newfoundland and Labrador) and Shala Newton (British Columbia). Each of the recipients expressed an interest in understanding more about occupational health and safety that could improve workplace conditions and help prevent injuries and illnesses.

In the spring of 2002, CCOHS’ Council of Governors established an occupational health and safety scholarship fund in the memory of Dick Martin, a past Governor on CCOHS Council and a pioneer of workplace health and safety in Canada. As part of the evaluation criteria for the award, applicants submitted essays on topics related to their area of study in occupational health and safety and were judged not only on their knowledge of the subject matter, but also their aspirations for their future careers.

More information about Dick Martin, as well as full details about the Dick Martin Scholarship Award, is available on the CCOHS website.





To request additional information, schedule an interview, or receive copies of media releases and advisories, please contact us.